Red 5 on glass planks“5Things” is a regular feature here on Finding 300 each Tuesday. Jennifer is my longest friend, because we’ve known each other since she was born (our parents became friends back in high school and are still close). When she was a freshman and I was a sophomore in high school, we discovered that we weren’t just family-friends, but soul sisters…although there are times when we’ve gone quite a while between connecting, we can always pick up right where are and not miss a beat.

When I was asked to describe five things that I like about myself, I’d like to be modest and say it was difficult, but the words sort of poured right out of me.  I hope that doesn’t sound vain. The truth is that I am pretty comfortable with who I’ve become. I’m in my 30’s now, and even though there are still some things I’d like to work on, I am quite pleased with myself. It wasn’t always that way. It was a journey of self-discovery that was filled with ups and downs. Here are my five things…

1. I am filled with empathy for others. Empathy is the ability to put oneself in another’s shoes to understand their point of view, even when you don’t think the same way they do. This is one of my favorite qualities about myself. Because of my empathy, I am a good listener and a good friend. Empathy also allows me to excel as a marketer.

2. I am highly creative. I am a “right brain-left brain person” with a tilt toward the right brain. Creativity oozes out of me in so many ways. There are the more obvious forms, like the creativity I demonstrate through my scrapbooks or my writing, and the less obvious forms, like creative problem solving on the fly – both at home and at work! I like to look at a situation and then look again – thinking differently about something is key.  So call it open-mindedness or call it creativity, I have it and I am happy to use it for good!

3. My faith is strong. I believe I am exactly where I am supposed to be, no matter where I am. I believe everything I’ve ever experienced, good or bad, was for a purpose. I believe God is working miracles in my life as well as in others’ lives. My faith helps me really be alive, and I love that!

4. I have a natural style that is so…me! A little bit boho, a little bit quirky, but 100% my own. It was so much fun developing my own style during my 20’s. I love that I can go to work without makeup on and no one looks at my funny. I love my long hair blowing in the wind or pulled back in creative braids. I love wearing long skirts and hippie shirts. I love my natural style because it expresses my inner beauty.

5. I love my imperfections. This probably sounds a bit odd, that my imperfections could be one of my five things, but it’s true. I spent most of my life trying to be perfect and that never got me anywhere. I was anxious and filled with negative self-talk. When I let go of the impossible goal of perfection and embraced my imperfections, I learned how to really live.

Want to hear more from Jen? Check out her twitter feed!
www.twitter.com/jenjohnston

P.S.  Interested in being a 5Things guest blogger?  Email me at finding300{at}gmail{dot}com.
Pic by tangi_bertin from flickr.
