The number 5 on a green background, formed by the absence on the caroony grasshoppers that surround the 5.“5Things” is a regular feature here on Finding 300 each Tuesday. Sara and I had the serendipitous fortune that her husband and mine grew up together–going to grade school, high school & college together, and remaining in contact long after–and therefore gave us the opportunity to become friends, and for her friendship, I am very grateful! And to top it off, her very adorable daughter, who just turned 3, is very enamored with my girls. Totally cute stuff! Oh, and appropriately enough, today’s her birthday! Here are Sara’s 5Things:

Without Jesus, or more correctly, without the faith in Jesus that was given me through my baptism, I am a failure. I am a negative. I’m a dissolving lump of protoplasm, destined to feed worms. I am a Servant of Satan. Without Jesus the Christ, I am a No!

1) But with Christ Jesus, I am something altogether different.

For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light (for the fruit of the light consists in all goodness, righteousness and truth) and find out what pleases the Lord. (Ephesians 5:8-10)

2) With Jesus and his Holy Spirit in me, I am the light of the world. That is to say, I am part of the only Good left on earth.

You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven. (Matthew 5:14-16)

3) I cannot be destroyed by the troubles of this silly, sad, and death-bound plane because Jesus lives in me.

But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us. We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body. For we who are alive are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that his life may also be revealed in our mortal body. So then, death is at work in us, but life is at work in you. (2 Corinthians 4:7-12)

4) Nothing in this world can master me. My death is not my destruction. Satan is my only fear and Christ has defeated him!

Do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather, be afraid of the One who can destroy both soul and body in hell. (Matthew 10:28)

5) With Christ, I am a Yes.

But as surely as God is faithful, our message to you is not “Yes” and “No.” For the Son of God, Jesus Christ, who was preached among you by us—by me and Silas and Timothy—was not “Yes” and “No,” but in him it has always been “Yes.” For no matter how many promises God has made, they are “Yes” in Christ. And so through him the “Amen” is spoken by us to the glory of God. Now it is God who makes both us and you stand firm in Christ. He anointed us, set his seal of ownership on us, and put his Spirit in our hearts as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come. (1 Corinthians 1:18)

Christ has made me his own through my baptism and continues to strengthen me in daily contrition and repentance through the Word. I continually learn my value through Jesus alone.

Am I good at remembering this? No. But I work at it because it’s the only thing I have that is real.

Cutie patootie posing with mom's glasses
P.S.  Interested in being a 5Things guest blogger?  Email me at finding300{at}gmail{dot}com.
Pic by WagsomeDog from flickr.
