Neon phrase reading, "Be faithful to your dreams."

I haven’t given up on my dreams.

That may not sound like much, but trust me, there have been plenty of opportunities and reasons to do so.  But instead of focusing on what those reasons are, I’m going to talk a bit about my dreams, so that I can keep them in the front of my heart even when I have days that give me plenty of those reasons give up on my dreams.

I want to be the mother of a big family, but most of them “not come from me,” as in physically.  I want a house, no, a home, where my children and their friends feel welcome and want to be.  I want to be a Martha Stewart, but a friendly, down-to-earth, sans-the-neurosis one.  I want to regularly throw amazing parties.  I want to head a small web-based empire of information about cool things.  I want to be an amazing example to my daughters and children about being a woman.  I want to be fit and healthy, and in such a way that it’s just part of who I am.  I want to empower people to be their best.  (No, I don’t dream of being Oprah, as much as that last one sounds like it!)  I want to love the majority of what I do to fill my days.  I want people to be a reflection of God’s love so that people want what I have–peace, joy, eternal security–as well.

The pic is one I took recently at Le Meridién Chambers Hotel in Minneapolis.  They have a great little art collection there, just stop in to see it sometime if you’d like, no need to dine or drink there if you don’t want to (but also worth it if you do!).